Iowa 24
Georgia Tech 14

January 5, 2010 – Land Shark Stadium
Iowa Earns First BCS Win
In a game that featured one of the most dynamic offenses in the nation against one of the country’s stingiest defenses, it was the No. 10 Iowa Hawkeyes solving No. 9 Georgia Tech’s triple option attack for a 24-14 victory at the 2010 Orange Bowl. Despite a temperature of 49 degrees at kickoff, the coldest in the 76-year history of the football classic, the Hawkeyes had the Yellow Jackets feeling the heat from the start.
Iowa earned its first BCS bowl win, matched the school record for victories and could claim their highest final ranking since finishing No. 3 in 1960. Atlantic Coast Conference champion Georgia Tech (11-3) totaled nine first downs and 155 yards, both season-lows.
Defensive end Adrian Clayborn led Iowa's defensive charge with two sacks and nine tackles, and was chosen the game's most outstanding player.
Iowa earned its first Orange Bowl win. The game marked the sixth appearance for Georgia Tech in the Orange Bowl, but first since 1967.
The Hawkeye offense was led by quarterback Ricky Stanzi, who went 17-for-29 for 231 yards and threw two early touchdowns, and true freshman running back Brandon Wegher, who carried the ball 16 times for 113 yards and one score.

  Iowa GT
First Downs 21 9
Rushing Attempts 40 41
Rushing Yards 172 143
Passes Attempted 29 9
Passes Completed 17 2
Had Intercepted 1 1
Passing Yards 231 12
Total Offense 403 155
Punts/Avg. 4/36.0 7/49.1
Fumbles/Lost  2/1 0/0
Penalties/Yards 4/25 9/68


Iowa 14 0 3 7 - 24
Georgia Tech 7 0 0 7 - 14

IOWA: McNutt 4-yard pass from Stanzi (Murray kick); IOWA: Sandeman 21-yard pass from Stanzi (Murray kick); GT: Tarrant 40-yard interception return (Blair kick); IOWA: Murray 33-yard FG; GT: Allen 1-yard run (Blair kick); IOWA: Wegher 32-yard run (Murray kick) MOP: Adrian Clayborn (Iowa)
Iowa Head Coach: Kirk Ferentz
Georgia Tech Head Coach: Paul Johnson



Renew Now

wait list

Merch 2016

Make It Orange.