Nebraska 24
Miami 17

January 1, 1995 – Orange Bowl Stadium
Osborne Wins First Title
Two fourth-quarter touchdowns helped No. 1 Nebraska overcome a 17-9 deficit, giving Coach Tom Osborne a 24-17 win over Miami and his first national championship as a head coach.
Miami took the opening kickoff 32 yards in 10 plays and a 44-yard Dane Prewitt field goal made it 3-0.
The Hurricanes pushed it to 10-0 after three Frank Costa passes moved the third-ranked ‘Canes down the field, culminating in a Costa-to-Trent Jones 35-yard touchdown play.
Brook Berringer, who led Nebraska to an 11-0 regular season record, replaced Tommie Frazier at quarterback. The senior hooked up with tight end Mark Gilman on a 19-yard touchdown pass play that made it 10-7 at the half.
In the third quarter, fullback Cory Schlesinger bolted up the middle on a trap play for the 15-yard touchdown. Back in the game, Frazier hit tight end Eric Alford with the two-point conversion that tied the game at 17.
Lawrence Phillips rushed for 96 yards, but it was Frazier who was named MOP. Despite completing just three of five passes for 25 yards and rushing for 31 yards, it was the senior’s fourth-quarter spark that led to the Husker win.

First Downs 20 14
Rushing Attempts 46 28
Rushing Yards 199 29
Passes Attempted 20 35
Passes Completed 11 18
Had Intercepted 2 1
Passing Yards 106 248
Total Offense 305 277
Punts/Avg. 7/41.1 7/39.7
Fumbles/Lost  2/1 2/0
Penalties/Yards 3/20 11/92


Nebraska 0 7 2 15 - 24
Miami 10 0 7 0 - 17

MIAMI: Prewitt 44-yard FG; MIAMI: Jones 35-yard pass from Costa (Prewitt kick); NEB: Gilman 19-yard pass from Berringer (Sieler kick); MIAMI: Harris 44-yard pass from Costa (Prewitt kick); NEB: Harris tackles Costa in endzone for safety; NEB: Schlesinger 15-yard run (Alford pass from Frazier); NEB: Schlesinger 14-yard run (Sieler kick) MOP: Tommie Frazier (Nebraska), Chris T. Jones (Miami)
Nebraska Head Coach: Tom Osborne
Miami Head Coach: Dennis Erickson



Renew Now

wait list

Merch 2016

Make It Orange.