Miami 22
Nebraska 0

January 1, 1992 – Orange Bowl Stadium
Shutout Gives ‘Canes Third Title
For the third time in five years, the Orange Bowl was the cream of the proverbial crop of New Year's Day bowl games as Miami soundly defeated Nebraska 22-0, to take a share of the national championship.
Hurricane fullback, and the game’s Most Outstanding Player, Larry Jones ran for 144 yards and a touchdown, while quarterback Gino Torretta completed 19-of-41passes for 257 yards and a score.
The Cornhuskers, the NCAA leaders in offense going into the game, didn't earn a rushing yard in the first quarter and netted just one yard on one completed pass. Miami became the first team in 221 games to hold the Cornhuskers scoreless.
Nebraska’s Derek Brown gained only 10 yards on five carries, and the Huskers pass attack was stifled by a Miami defensive front that got to quarterback Keithen McCant five times. The defensive stoppers for the ‘Canes were tackle Rusty Medearis, who had four sacks, and Micheall Barrow, who contributed 10 tackles.
Miami’s defense dominated while the offense followed Torretta's 8-yard touchdown pass to Kevin Williams with two Carlos Huerta field goals for a 13-0 cushion.
The third quarter proved no more fruitful for Nebraska. Needing a strong defensive showing, the 'Huskers failed to hinder Miami from marching 66 yards on its first drive of the second half, culminating in a 1-yard Jones run and a 19-0 lead. Huerta added a 54-yard field goal, second-longest in Orange Bowl history, to go up 22-0.
Miami finished No. 1 in the Associated Press Poll while the University of Washington got the nod from the Coaches' Poll.

First Downs 25 9
Rushing Attempts 44 38
Rushing Yards 192 122
Passes Attempted 41 19
Passes Completed 19 7
Had Intercepted 2 2
Passing Yards 257 89
Total Offense 439 171
Punts/Avg. 5/33.0 8/36.6
Fumbles/Lost  3/0 3/2
Penalties/Yards 12/143 6/36


Miami 13 0 9 0 - 22
Nebraska 0 0 0 0 - 0

MIAMI: Williams 8-yard pass from Torretta (Huerta kick); MIAMI: Huerta 24-yard FG; MIAMI: Huerta 24-yard FG; MIAMI: Jones 1-yard run (pass failed); MIAMI: Huerta 54-yard FG. MOP: Larry Jones (Miami) and Tyrone Legette (Nebraska)
Miami Head Coach: Dennis Erickson
Nebraska Head Coach: Tom Osborne



Renew Now

wait list

Merch 2016

Make It Orange.