Penn State 15
Kansas 14

January 1, 1969 – Orange Bowl Stadium
Late Penalty Gives PSU Win
Given a second try due to a Kansas penalty, Penn State scored on a late two-point conversion to beat the Jayhawks, 15-14, in the 35th Orange Bowl.
Kansas held on the previous attempt, but referee Foster Grose noticed 12 men on the field and awarded a second try to the Nittany Lions. Bob Campbell swept over the left side of the line for the win.
This Kansas team, the only one ever to win the Big Eight title, scored first on a Mike Reeves 2-yard run. Penn State running back Charlie Pittman came back with a 13-yard touchdown to even it up at halftime.
Following a scoreless third quarter, fullback John Riggins' 1-yard run put the Jayhawks up 14-7. Kansas looked like it would score again but head coach Pepper Rodgers elected to run the ball on a fourth-and-one at the Penn State 14 yard line. Instead of the sure three points, Riggins was stopped for no gain by Penn State's Pete Johnson.
With 1:16 to go and still trailing by seven, Penn State partially blocked a Kansas punt, and took over at midfield. Chuck Burkhart completed a deep pass to Campbell, who was knocked out at the 3. Burkhart eventually scored on a 1-yard run that made it Kansas 14, Penn State 13.

First Downs 17 16
Rushing Attempts 55 59
Rushing Yards 207 76
Passes Attempted 23 18
Passes Completed 12 9
Had Intercepted 2 1
Passing Yards 154 165
Total Offense 361 241
Punts/Avg. 9/38.1 10/38.3
Fumbles/Lost  2/2 2/0
Penalties/Yards 1/15 2/10


Penn State 0 7 0 8 - 15
Kansas 7 0 0 7 - 14

KU: Reeves 2-yard run (Bell kick); PSU: Pittman 13-yard run (Garthwaite kick); KU: Riggins 1-yard run (Bell kick); PSU: Burkhart 3-yard run (Campbell run) MOP: Donnie Shanklin (Kansas)
Penn State Head Coach: Joe Paterno
Kansas Head Coach: Pepper Rodgers



Renew Now

wait list

Merch 2016

Make It Orange.