O'Brien Award watch list announced

With a O'Brien award winning performance by Tyler Wilson, the Razorbacks could find themselves at the top of the BCS.

FORT WORTH, Texas — The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced the 2012 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List on Wednesday.

This year’s list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, features 34 of the nation’s best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2012 college football season. 

Seven 2011 semifinalists are included on the Watch List: Matt Barkley (Southern California), Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Seth Doege (Texas Tech), Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Keith Price (Washington), Denard Robinson (Michigan) and Tyler Wilson (Arkansas).

Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O’Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 124 NCAA Division I FBS schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Oct. 22. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Nov. 19. The 2012 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6.

The 36th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Player School
Ryan Aplin Arkansas State
Matt Barkley Southern California
Tajh Boyd Clemson
Tyler Bray Tennessee
Teddy Bridgewater Louisville
Alex Carder Western Michigan
Derek Carr Fresno State
B.J. Daniels South Florida
Seth Doege Texas Tech
Cody Fajardo Nevada
James Franklin Missouri
Mike Glennon N.C. State
Landry Jones Oklahoma
Collin Klein Kansas State
EJ Manuel Florida State
Taylor Martinez Nebraska
AJ McCarron Alabama
Braxton Miller Ohio State
Aaron Murray Georgia
Riley Nelson BYU
Casey Pachall TCU
Keith Price Washington
Sean Renfree Duke
Bryn Renner North Carolina
Denard Robinson Michigan
Nathan Scheelhaase Illinois
Connor Shaw South Carolina
Geno Smith West Virginia
Trent Steelman Army
Tyler Tettleton Ohio
Logan Thomas Virginia Tech
Jeff Tuel Washington State
James Vandenberg Iowa
Tyler Wilson Arkansas



Back to All News



Renew Now

wait list

Merch 2016

Ticket Galaxy
Make It Orange.