BCS Meetings: Pasadena, CA


Brett McMurphy | ESPN

PASADENA, Calif. -- College Football Playoff will be the name of the four-team playoff, which begins after the 2014 regular season.

Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, will be awarded the college football playoff's first national championship, to be held Jan. 12, 2015, sources told ESPN.

Also, the Fiesta, Cotton and Chick-fil-A bowls will join the Rose, Sugar and Orange bowls in the six-bowl semifinal rotation for the new playoff, sources said.

The site of the title game in the first season of the new four-team event was discussed Tuesday by BCS commissioners, a source said. Tampa, Fla., and Arlington were the only two cities that bid for the game.

Arlington has been a prohibitive favorite for several months, but an impressive package from Tampa made it a tough decision, sources said.

"It was closer than a lot of people thought it would be," a source said.

The official vote and announcement of the first title game and semifinal sites will be made Wednesday from the Langham Hotel in Pasadena.

Sources also said the semifinal rotation has been determined as follows: the Rose (Pasadena) and Sugar (New Orleans) bowls will host the semifinals in 2015, the Orange (Miami) and Cotton (Arlington) bowls will host in 2016, and the Fiesta (Glendale, Ariz.) and Chick-fil-A (Atlanta) bowls will host in 2017. They will keep that rotation through January 2026.

During the 12-year college football playoff contract, the semifinals will be at:

•  Rose and Sugar bowls: Jan. 1, 2015; Jan. 1, 2018; Jan. 1, 2021; and Jan. 1, 2024.

•  Orange and Cotton bowls: Jan. 1, 2016; Jan. 1, 2019; Jan. 1, 2022; and Jan. 1, 2025.

•  Fiesta and Chick-fil-A bowls: Jan. 2, 2017; Jan. 1, 2020; Jan. 2, 2023; and Jan. 1, 2026.

The Holiday Bowl was the only other bowl to bid for a semifinal site.

The championship game dates (all played on Mondays) are: Jan. 12, 2015; Jan. 11, 2016; Jan. 9, 2017; Jan. 8, 2018; Jan. 7, 2019; Jan. 13, 2020; Jan. 11, 2021; Jan. 10, 2022; Jan. 9, 2023; Jan. 8, 2024; Jan. 13, 2025; and Jan. 12, 2026.

On Tuesday, the commissioners announced the name for the four-team playoff. This season marks the final season of the Bowl Championship Series. For months, the commissioners have said they wanted a simple name for the new playoff.

"We decided to call the playoff what it is -- the College Football Playoff," BCS executive director Bill Hancock said. "We think the new playoff will be the most dynamic improvement to college football in a generation. Certainly, it's what the fans want. We also invite everyone to vote online to select the logo and help us kick off the new College Football Playoff."

Besides landing the inaugural College Football Playoff championship game, Cowboys Stadium will host the NCAA men's Final Four nine months earlier, on April 5 and 7, 2014.

In years the Rose, Sugar and Orange bowls do not host the national semifinals, they will get the highest-ranked team from their respective conference tie-ins: Rose (Pac-12 vs. Big Ten), Sugar (SEC vs. Big 12) and Orange (ACC vs. highest-ranked from SEC/Big Ten/Notre Dame).

This summer, the College Football Playoff will start accepting bids for the Jan. 11, 2016, and Jan. 9, 2017, championship games, sources said.


Back to All News



Renew Now

wait list

Merch 2016

Ticket Galaxy
Make It Orange.